CEDEV Faculty News

Posted: January 25, 2011

Dr. Ann Dodd and Jason Weigle

Dr. Ann Dodd, Assistant Dean for Strategic Initiatives in the College of Agricultural Sciences, and a faculty member in Community and Economic Development, has recently been appointed to the 2010 Board of Examiners for the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award. The Award program, managed by the National Institute of Standards and Technology within the Department of Commerce (U.S.), is the highest level of national recognition for performance excellence that an organization can receive. Dr. Dodd will serve the board in reviewing and evaluating applications. The board is comprised of approximately 500 experts selected from various industries, professional organizations, educational and healthcare, and government agencies. To serve as an Examiner for the Baldridge award, Dr. Dodd had to successfully complete a preparation course based on the Award, including the evaluation and scoring processes. Congratulations to Dr. Dodd on this accomplishment! Dr. Dodd achieved a Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degree from Iowa State University, and completed her Ph.D. from Penn State University. Dr. Dodd has taught CEDEV 505 Leadership Development.

Jason Weigle, a CEDEV course instructor, received the 2010 Paul Hand Award for Graduate Student Teaching Achievement through Penn State’s College of Agricultural Sciences. Weigle, a dual doctoral‐degree candidate in Rural Sociology/Human Dimensions of Natural Resources and the Environment, assisted in teaching CEDEV 505 Leadership Development and now teaches CEDEV 452 Rural Organization. Jason earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Soils Science and a Master of Science degree in Community and Economic Development from Penn State University (we are very proud!). In addition to teaching CEDEV 452, Jason has taught undergraduate courses in the Penn State CED major. Congratulations, Jason, on this excellent recognition!