Share

Course and Advising Basics for Students

Information about managing your courses and working with your advisor.

Advising

Responsibilities of the Advisee

Your adviser will help you develop long range plans, select and schedule classes, assist with problems, and help with other academic concerns. Spend time with this person discussing your interests and goals.

  • Obtain a list of the academic and occupational requirements from the adviser and use it to monitor progress toward fulfilling all degree requirements.
  • Be aware that primary responsibility for selecting courses and meeting degree requirements is that of the advisee. The adviser can suggest, recommend, and remind the student of rules and requirements, but the advisee has the primary responsibility for meeting program and degree requirements.
  • Know the adviser's office hours by using Starfish.
  • Inform the adviser of changes in plans that directly affect academic performance and educational goals (e.g., finances, job, health, academic performance, changes in academic and career goals, etc.).
  • To plan a suitable schedule of classes at least one semester in advance with the help of the adviser. It is advisable to formulate a long-term schedule of all courses to be taken while in the program.
  • To be familiar with the published rules and regulations of the University.
  • To discuss academic performance and its implications with the adviser.
  • To follow through on referrals made by the adviser.

Walk-in Advising for November 2017:

Note: You do not need to see your assigned adviser during walk-ins. This way, you can attend the walk-in advising hours that are most convenient for you.

AdviserDateTime
Charlene Paquette Thursday, November 2 1:30-3:30P
Friday, November 3 10:00A-12:00P
Monday, November 6 2:00-4:00P
Tuesday, November 7 1:30-3:30P
Thursday, November 16 10:00A-12:00P
*No classes the week of Nov. 20
Thursday, November 30 1:30-3:30P

Chrystal Wheeler

Friday, November 3 2:00-4:00P
Tuesday, November 7 10:00A-12:00P
Friday, November 10 2:00-4:00P

Monday, November 13

(Walk-in Advising in 114 Ferguson)

 

11:30A-1:00P

Tuesday, November 14 10:00A-12:00P
Friday, November 17 2:00-4:00P
* No classes the week of Nov. 20

Monday, November 27

(Walk-in Advising in 114 Ferguson) 

 

11:30A-1:00P

Tuesday, November 28 10:00A-12:00P