Share

Course and Advising Basics for Students

Information about managing your courses and working with your advisor.

Advising

Responsibilities of the Advisee

Your adviser will help you develop long range plans, select and schedule classes, assist with problems, and help with other academic concerns. Spend time with this person discussing your interests and goals.

  • Obtain a list of the academic and occupational requirements from the adviser and use it to monitor progress toward fulfilling all degree requirements.
  • Be aware that primary responsibility for selecting courses and meeting degree requirements is that of the advisee. The adviser can suggest, recommend, and remind the student of rules and requirements, but the advisee has the primary responsibility for meeting program and degree requirements.
  • Know the adviser's office hours by using Starfish.
  • Inform the adviser of changes in plans that directly affect academic performance and educational goals (e.g., finances, job, health, academic performance, changes in academic and career goals, etc.).
  • To plan a suitable schedule of classes at least one semester in advance with the help of the adviser. It is advisable to formulate a long-term schedule of all courses to be taken while in the program.
  • To be familiar with the published rules and regulations of the University.
  • To discuss academic performance and its implications with the adviser.
  • To follow through on referrals made by the adviser.

Walk-in Advising for April 2018

Note: You do not need to see your assigned adviser during walk-ins. This way, you can attend the walk-in advising hours that are most convenient for you. These walk-in hours are also listed on our Starfish Calendars. 

DATETIME
April 2 (Monday) 10A-12P
April 3 (Tuesday) 11A-12P
April 4 (Wednesday) 10A-12P
Extra Walk-In, April 4 (Wednesday) 1-3P
April 5 (Thursday) 10A-12P
April 6 (Friday) 10A-12P
Extra Walk-In, April 6 (Friday) 1-3P
April 9 (Monday) 1-3P
April 11 (Wednesday) 9:30-11:30A
April 12 (Thursday) 10A-12P
April 13 (Friday) 1-3P
April 16 (Monday) 1-3P
April 17 (Tuesday) 1-3P
April 18 (Wednesday)  9:30-11:30A
April 20 (Friday)  1-3P
April 23 (Monday) 1-3P
April 24 (Tuesday) 1-3P
April 25 (Wednesday)  10A-12P
April 26 (Thursday) 10A-12P
April 27 (Friday) 1-3P
April 30 (Monday) 1-3P