Share

#GLAG17 Conference Archive

The mission of the Global Learning Conference in Agriculture is to create space for innovation and collaboration in developing global learning opportunities throughout the K-20 education continuum. The #GLAG17 conference was held online on January 27, 2017.

Asynchronous Presentations

The VoiceThread platform was used for presenters around the world to share asynchronous presentations. Check out this step-by-step VoiceThread guide or watch a 90-second video tutorial.

PresenterPresentation

Amy Cosby, University of New England, Armidale, Australia, acosby2@une.edu.au

SmartFarm Learning Hub: Innovation from Australia

Haley Q. Clement, Oregon State University, haley.clement@oregonstate.edu

Jonathan J. Velez, Oregon State University, jonathan.velez@oregonstate.edu

AgriCorps: An Innovative Global Immersion Option for American Agriculture Graduates

Haley Q. Clement, Oregon State University, haley.clement@oregonstate.edu

Jonathan J. Velez, Oregon State University, jonathan.velez@oregonstate.edu

Implementing Student-Centered Approaches in Ghana

Jane Hunt, GrowNextGen.org and Columbus Council on World Affairs, jane@educationprojects.org, @grownextgen

Melinda Lloyd, GrowNextGen.org and Columbus Council on World Affairs, melinda@educationprojects.org

Global Food Security Resources

Jeremy Elliott-Engel, Virginia Tech, jeremyee@vt.edu

Donna Westfall-Rudd, Virginia Tech, mooredm@vt.edu

Creating a Culturally-Responsive Classroom: Strategies for the Agricultural Educator

Andrew B. Conroy, University of New Hampshire, drew.conroy@unh.edu

Elisebeth Wise, University of New Hampshire, enp32@wildcats.unh.edu

Independent Undergraduate Research Abroad: Lessons Learned at the University of New Hampshire

Kendall M. Wright, University of Kentucky, kendallwright@uky.edu, @ukaged

Stacy K. Vincent, University of Kentucky, stacy.vincent@uky.edu, @ukaged

Outback Wildcat: Capstone Semester International Immersion
Olivia Murphy-Sweet, Peace Corps Senegal, ocm5019@gmail.com Let Peace Corps take the Mic in YOUR Classroom

 

Synchronous Presentations

 View all of the following videos with a single click by viewing the #GLAG17 Playlist.

PresenterRecordingFile
Chad Littlefield Soft Start Storify

Keegan Kautzky (kkautzky@worldfoodprize.org, @endhngr), Director of National Education Programs, World Food Prize Foundation

Melanie Miller Foster (mjm727@psu.edu, @globalmelanie) Assistant Professor of International Agriculture, Penn State University

Welcoming Remarks

Jeremy Elliott-Engel, Virginia Tech, jeremyee@vt.edu

Donna Westfall-Rudd, Virginia Tech, mooredm@vt.edu

Bringing the World Home: Lessons for Extension from Turkey, Nepal and Kenya File

Heather Singmaster, Asia Society, hsingmaster@asiasociety.org, @hsingmaster

Jennifer Manise, Longview Foundation, jennifer@longviewfdn.org

Global Ag: New Tools for the K-12 Classroom File

Jill Woerner, Indiana Department of Education, jwoerner@doe.in.gov, @GlobalEdIndiana

Celya Glowacki, Indiana Department of Education, cglowacki@doe.in.gov

Internationalizing Course Content File
Alex Thor, Explorations by Thor Special Coffee Break Presentation File
Richard Slimbach, Azusa Pacific University, rslimbach@apu.edu Keynote Presentation: Global Learning Upon a Generous Earth File

Makena Schultz, Michigan State University, schul430@anr.msu.edu

Keegan Kautzky, Director of National Education Programs, World Food Prize Foundation, kkautzky@worldfoodprize.org, @endhngr

Special Presentation: World Food Prize State and Global Youth Institutes File
Brad Kinsinger, Hawkeye Community College, bradley.kinsinger@hawkeyecollege.edu, @bradkinsinger Global Agriculture Immersion for All File
Ben Meyer, National FFA Organization, bmeyer@ffa.org, @FFAWest Contextualizing Agriculture Education in Uganda File

Sasha Diederich, Penn State Extension, smd23@psu.edu, @4hsasha

Where GLAG Can Take You File

Keegan Kautzky (kkautzky@worldfoodprize.org, @endhngr), Director of National Education Programs, World Food Prize Foundation

Melanie Miller Foster (mjm727@psu.edu, @globalmelanie) Assistant Professor of International Agriculture, Penn State University

Closing Remarks

Social Media

 Join the conversation!  Use the hashtag #GLAG17 to follow the conversation on Twitter. Check out the how-to guide to get started.  Also, you can find a repository of the social media conversation on Storify - no social media accounts needed!

Reflect on the conference by participating in the After Party! Post your responses in the two online bulletin boards addressing the following prompts:

  1. How has GLAG inspired you to take action?
  2. Dream BIG: If you could do anything, what would be your BIG idea on global learning in agriculture?

International Snacks

Open your Conference-in-a-Box and enjoy the assortment of international snacks curated by the Global Teach Ag Initiative with help from nominations from our current and past participants and presenters.  Suggest an international snack for #GLAG18!

Global Learning Partners

A very special thank-you to all the organizations who became Global Learning Partners and helped make #GLAG17 possible.  If you are interested in becoming a Global Learning Partner for #GLAG18, please contact teachag@psu.edu.